Writers Space Africa-Rwanda
News Opportunities

Submit to African Writers Awards 2024

Writers Space Africa (WSA) is currently open for submissions for three annual writing awards for African writers.

The first award is the third edition of the African Teen Writers Awards. This award is open to early teens aged between 13 and 16, and submissions are welcomed in two categories: poetry and prose. The winners of each category will receive a certificate of achievement and a cash prize of $100.

The second award is the seventh edition of the African Writers Awards. For this edition, WSA is accepting submissions for short stories. The grand prize for this award is $500.

The third award is the sixth Wakini Kuria Prize for Children’s Literature. WSA is calling for submissions in the children’s literature genre for children between the ages of 6 and 12. The winner of this prize will receive a certificate and $200; the second-place winner will receive a certificate and $150; and the third-place winner will receive a certificate and $100.

Sponsored by Tanzanian author and poet Nahida Esmail and WSA founder Anthony ‘PenBoss’ Onugba, the awards provide every writer of African descent with a fantastic opportunity to showcase their talent while inspiring others.

The deadline for submissions for all three awards is July 1, 2024.

Please be sure to cross-check the eligibility criteria by visiting https://www.africanwritersawards.com before submitting.

Wishing all the participants the best of luck!

You May Also Like

Submit to Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2023


Submit to Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award 2023


Submit to the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing


Leave a Comment