Writers Space Africa-Rwanda
Image default

Submit to Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2023

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country who is aged 18 and over.  It is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words). Regional winners each receive £2,500 and the opportunity to be published online by Granta magazine, and the overall winner receives £5,000.

View the panel of judges for the 2023 Commonwealth Short Story Prize here.

As well as English, stories are accepted in the Bengali, Chinese, Creole, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish languages. Translated entries from any language into English are also eligible. If the winning story is a translation, the translator receives additional prize money.

Please check here for answers to frequently asked questions.

Please read the rules below and enter your story via the online entry form.

For more information, visit this website.

You May Also Like

Submit to Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award 2023


Submit to Imagine 2200 Short Story Contest by June 24


Submit to the African Writers Award 2023


Leave a Comment