Writers Space Africa-Rwanda

Submit to the 2023 Graywolf Press African Fiction Prize

The fourth Graywolf Press African Fiction Prize will run from February 1-28, 2023. The prize will be awarded for a first novel by an African author primarily residing in Africa and will be judged by Tsitsi Dangarembga, author of the Booker Prize short-listed This Mournable Body and the forthcoming Black and Female, in conjunction with the Graywolf editors.

Graywolf Press is a nonprofit American publisher that publishes work that is distinctive, artistically singular, and of a high literary quality. For this prize, the judge and the Graywolf editors are seeking novels that are engaged with the current moment and that approach contemporary issues with innovative prose and fresh perspectives.

Submissions must be full-length, previously unpublished first novels, or first novels published in Africa that have not been distributed or available for sale outside of the continent of Africa.

The winning manuscript will receive a $12,000 advance and publication by Graywolf Press

You can learn more here.

Photograph: Brittle Paper

You May Also Like

Umukarago Literary Magazine Calls for Submissions for Second Edition


Submit to Kendeka Prize for African Literature 2023


Submit to the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing


Leave a Comment